2015 Louis Malassis International Scientific Prize: deadline for applications

The deadline for applications for the Louis MALASSIS International Scientific Prize for Agriculture and Food has been extended to midday on 15 January 2015 (French time)

Source: GFAR

The prize was created by research organisation the Agropolis Fondation to recognise innovation through research, development and capacity building that can improve food and agricultural systems sustainability as well as contributing to food security and poverty reduction.

The Prize has three categories:

  • Louis Malassis Distinguished Scientist Prize is conferred to an outstanding scientist, or a group of scientists who has made significant contribution in the fields covered by the Prize through his/her (or their collective) work.
  • Louis Malassis Young Promising Scientist Prize is given to a young individual, or a group of young scientists, for original and promising work in the fields covered by the Prize.
  • Louis Malassis Outstanding Career in Agricultural Development Prize is awarded toa person still in activity whose professional career is devoted to agricultural development, be it in the field of research, innovation, development or policy.

The winner in each category will receive €20,000. Application is open to all stakeholders from academic or research organisations (private or public), civil society (for instance an NGO or a farmers’ organisation), or a private sector enterprise.

And this year, global agribusiness Olam International has partnered with Agropolis Fondation to launch the inaugural Olam Prize for Innovation in Food Security, to be judged and awarded in conjunction with the Louis Malassis prizes.

Open to individuals or research teams, the Olam Prize aims to recognise an outstanding innovation for its potential impact on the availability, affordability, accessibility or adequacy of food, as well as to support its further development.

The winner will receive $15,000 as a personal award and $35,000 as a grant for further research.

For the Louis Malassis prizes, download the Guidelines here and the application form here.

For the Olam prize, download the Guidelines here and the application form here.

Previous post

Climate Smart Landscapes: Multifunctionality in Practice

Next post

Healthier soils will give us – and the planet – a healthier century

No Comment

Leave a reply